The Corwin Chair presents a lecture with Ioannis Mitsialis

Event Date: 

Thursday, May 4, 2017 - 6:00pm

Event Date Details: 

Event Location: 

  • Studio Xenakis (Room 2215 Music Building)

Event Price: 

Admission is free.

Event Contact: 

Adriane Hill
Marketing and Communications Manager
UC Santa Barbara Department of Music
(805) 893-3230
The Corwin Chair presents a lecture with composer Ioannis Mitsialis on Thursday, May 4, 2017 at 6 p.m. in Studio Xenakis (Music Room 2215). In his talk, Mitsialis will present his general compositional approach and aesthetics, as shown in two of his earlier works. He will focus on his most recent piece (for double bass and prepared piano), where mechanical aspects of the musical process are aesthetically pursued, on piano preparation techniques and about more percussive sounds generating metrical patterns, and finally on two new pieces in progress. Admission is free and the event is open to the public.
About Ioannis Mitsialis
Ioannis Mitsialis is a composer born in 1978 in Athens, Greece. His early music studies in piano and theoretical music education were pursued at the Hellenic National Conservatory. After that he completed a Bachelor in Music at the Ionian University, Music Department with a dissertation in music composition. In 2008 the Hellenic State Scholarships’ Foundation (IKY) awarded him a scholarship and he moved to Germany, where he graduated with a Master degree in composition with honors at the University of Music and Theatre in Hamburg, Germany, under the supervision of Professor Peter Michael Hamel in 2010. In 2013 he graduated from the University of Music and Theatre "Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy" in Leipzig, Germany, having acquired the highest title awarded by German universities, i.e. the "Meisterklassenexamen" in composition, supervised by Professor Dr. Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf. Other important teachers with whom he has worked regularly are Clarence Barlow in The Hague and Anargyros Deniosos in Athens. He has also attended seminars and workshops with the following composers: Hans-Jürgen von Bose, Gunther Schuller, Édith Canat de Chizy, Nikolaus Brass, Adriana Hölszky, Georges Apergis, Steven Kazuo Takasugi, and Anargyros Deniosos. He works in a number of different genres (symphonic music, chamber music, vocal music, new musical theatre, solo music). His compositions have been performed repeatedly in the USA, Germany, Switzerland, Holland and Greece. In 2009 he won the Annemarie and Hermann Rauhe Prize for his piano trio "Interaktionen" in Hamburg. Since September 2016, he is a Ph.D. student at the University of California, San Diego (UCSD), USA.
In his lecture he will give an overview of his general compositional approach and aesthetics, as shown in two of his earlier works for organ and for string trio. The notion of verticality and also simultaneous processes which produce non-dialectical structures will be discussed. He will focus on his most recent piece Reflections on a fundamental (2016) for double bass and prepared piano, where he prominently pursues the mechanical aspect of the musical process aesthetically. He will speak about piano preparation techniques which create many layers of sound color in the piano aggregates and also about resulting sounds of a more percussive nature. The latter effect aggregates inside metrical patterns, thus determining important structural parameters of the piece. In the last part of the talk, two new pieces in progress and their compositional strategies will be briefly reviewed. One of them is a commission for the Etchings Festival in Auvillar, France this summer.