Joel Feigin's opera, Twelfth Night, wins First Place in the National Opera Association’s Production Competition

The UCSB Department of Music is pleased to announce that the Department of Music’s production of Joel Feigin’s opera, Twelfth Night, has won First Place in the National Opera Association’s Production Competition in Division II. The opera, an interpretation of one of Shakespeare’s most popular works, has been given much recognition by the opera community. The work was chosen for the 2003 New York City Opera VOX Workshop (where it was conducted by the company’s music director, George Manahan) as well as for the New Works Presentations at the 2006 Opera America Conference in Seattle in 2006. 

Joel Feigin's Twelfth Night:

Brent Wilson—Conductor

David Grabarkewitz—Director

Benjamin Brecher—Producer, Assistant Conductor

Skip Stecker—Set and Lighting Design

Lisa Lange—Costume Design

Danielle White—Wig and Makeup Design

Amanda Probst—Stage Manager

Cast: Adam Bradley (Sebastian), Molly Clementz (Viola), Emil Cristescu (Antonio), Mark Covey (A Captain), Christopher Edwards (Feste, the fool), Luvi Avendano (Sir Toby Belch), Aislinn Burnett (Maria), Evan Schindler (Sir Andrew Aguecheek), Mark Covey (Fabian), Aaron Gallington (Orsino), Colleen Beucher (Olivia), Juliet Powar (understudy to Olivia), Tyler Reece (Malvolio), Edward Nixon (Officer), Daniel Qi (Servant), Evan Boaz (Priest).

Chorus: Juliet Powar, Jacqueline Taylor, Tricia Paulson, Evan Boaz, Dan Qi, Edward Nixon, Skye Paul.

UCSB Opera Orchestra: Camden Boyle, Youjin Jung, Sara Bashmore, Camile Enderlin, Jonathan Morgan, Therese Brown, Jacob Monroe, Jake Rosenbaum, Isaac Kay, Jordan Warmath, Carson Rick, Greg Rathje, Anna Heflin, Wesley Chou, Larissa Fedoryka, Kathryn Carlson, Christopher Chen, Neil Garber, Jason Bray, Catherine Marshall, Adriane Hill, Andy Radford, Claire Garvais, Grace Sedgewick, Melissa Demarjian, Trey Ferrell, Jarrett Webb, Will Grace, Ann Cotin, John Scoville, Nick Diamantides, Dominick Di Cesare, Karen Yeh (Graduate Teaching Assistant).

UCSB Opera Theatre Staff: Patrick Chose (Operations Manager), John Scoville (Rehearsal Pianist), Meghan Rao (Assistant Stage Manager) Tiffany Rizzo-Weaver (Lighting Operator), Robert Rousseau (Lead Stage Tech), Melissa Woznicki (Stage Techs), Joel Bagan (Stage Techs), Mitch Grimes (Recording Tech), Jamie Birkett (Set Construction), Ingrid Luna Holden (Set Painter), Josh Marin (Assistant Lighting Operator).


Photo credit: David Bazemore