Now Hear Ensemble to perform at the Carlsbad Music Festival

On Sunday, August 30, UCSB's Ensemble in Residence, the Now Hear Ensemble, will be performing at the Carlsbad Music Festival as a part of the “New Currents” showcase. The group will be presenting This Time Around by Federico Llach and Gaby Goldberg, wait. by Anthony Paul Garcia, and Cycles by Dan VanHassel. The full program can be found here.

The Carlsbad Music Festival aims to engage and inspire local, national, and international communities of composers, performers, creators, and concert-goers through world-class performances of adventurous music. Founded in 2004 by composer Matt McBane, the Carlsbad Music Festival strives to enhance Carlsbad, California as a cultural center, engaging diverse audiences and providing wide accessibility by integrating events within community spaces. Now in its twelfth season, the Carlsbad Music Festival has achieved a level of artistic integrity and vision that has been praised as “one of the area’s most innovative music showcases” (KPBS, San Diego’s NPR affiliate), “phenomenal” (U-T San Diego), “a starry array of new music specialists” (Alex Ross, The Rest is Noise) and “magnificently enlightening” (Los Angeles Times). In 2010, CMF won ASCAP’s Award for Adventurous Programming.

Pieces to be performed include:

"Wait." by Anthony Paul Garcia

"Wait." for solo viola and electronics was composed for Anthony's good friend and violist, Jonathan Morgan, in early 2011 for UCSB’s “New Works for Viola” festival. The initial movement, entitled Avoid Dance, actively avoids the pitch G, spiraling around it in a frenzied haste. In the second movement, Bowing, the music succumbs to the G-force and relishes in it's frequency band, so much so that it is crushed under the weight of it. 

"This Time Around" by Federico Llach and Gaby Goldberg

Extraordinary double bass player and composer Federico Llach collaborates with visual artist Gaby Goldberg to explore visual and sonic manifestations of the cycles of nature and its contrasts: the brightest to the darkest colors; the emptiest textures to saturation; the lowest to the highest note – resulting in an intoxicating hip hop-inspired rhythmic groove.

"Cycles" by Dan VanHassel

Cycles puts music in motion by utilizing the most basic form of transportation—the wheel—inspired by Santa Barbara’s favorite means of transportation: the bicycle. UC Berkeley alumnus Dan VanHassel's "Cycles" makes use of Anders Lind’s “Wheel Quintet”—wheel instruments equipped with sensors that control electronic music parameters.

Tickets can be purchased here

The Now Hear Ensemble consists of current and former UCSB music students, as well as guest musicians from throughout Southern California. The founding members include Federico Llach, Joel Hunt, Jonathan Morgan, Amanda Kritzberg, and Anthony Garcia.

To learn more about the Now Hear Ensemble:

Photo by Gaby Goldberg.