Jazz Ensemble

Event Date: 

Wednesday, June 7, 2017 - 7:30pm

Event Date Details: 

Event Location: 

  • Lotte Lehmann Concert Hall (UCSB)

Event Price: 

Tickets: general ($10), non-UCSB students with ID ($5), UCSB students with ID (FREE), children under 12 (FREE). Tickets may be purchased at the door, at the AS Ticket Office window (UCEN Room 1535, across from Corwin Pavilion), online at the link below, or by calling the AS Ticket Office at (805) 893-2064.

Event Contact: 

Adriane Hill
Marketing and Communications Manager
UC Santa Barbara Department of Music
(805) 893-3230

jazz trombone player
Photo by Matt Perko.
The UCSB Jazz Ensemble, directed by Dr. Jon Nathan, presents a final large ensemble concert for the 2016-2017 academic year featuring graduating students. Drummer Shane Sato, recipient of the UCSB Jazz Artist of the Year Award, given annually to a deserving UCSB Jazz Ensemble student for his or her contribution to Jazz @ UCSB, will be featured on Pat Metheny’s “The First Circle” and Don Ellis’s quirky “Pussywiggle Stomp”. Also featured on the latter will be saxophonists Nick Brown and James Garcia, both performing jazz at UCSB for the very last time on this concert. James Garcia will also be featured on Keith Foley’s 70’s funk inspired “Uncle Heavy’s Pork Chop Revue”, and Nick Brown will be featured soloist on the aforementioned “The First Circle”. Bassist Jacob Acosta and David Guevel will be soloists on Thad Jones’s classic composition/arrangement “Three and One”, which also includes one of the most famous saxophone solis of the entire jazz repertoire. Finally, UCSB Music Department brass students David Nakazono and Aaron Yang (trumpets), and Dylan Aguilera (trombone) will also be heavily featured as ensemble players and soloists. Dylan is the Music Department’s Outstanding Undergraduate student for 2017, as well as having been honored last year with the Loren Toder Memorial Scholarship. The concert's first half will feature a jazz combo consisting of graduating students Nick Ray (piano), Jacob Acosta (bass), and Shane Sato (drums) as rhythm section, all three having entered UCSB together and played together in groups for the last 4 years. Wednesday, June 7, 2017 at 7:30 p.m. in Lotte Lehmann Concert Hall. Directed by Jon Nathan.


Photo by Matt Perko.