Professor Curtis Roads wins 2016 Giga Hertz Award for Electronic Music

Professor Curtis Roads recently received the 2016 Giga Hertz Award for Electronic Music in recognition of his art and his life's work. Sponsored by the ZKM Karlsruhe and the SWR Experimental Studio, Baden-Baden, the Giga-Hertz Award for electronic music has been awarded since 2007, and is endowed with 10,000 euros (approximately $10,600). Read the full press release below.
Giga-Hertz-Award 2016 for the US composer Curtis Roads
Baden-Baden / Karlsruhe
The Giga Hertz prize in 2016, which is endowed with 10,000 euros, goes this year to the US composer Curtis Roads for his art and his life's work. Sponsored by the ZKM Karlsruhe and the SWR Experimental Studio, Baden-Baden, the Giga-Hertz Award for electronic music has been awarded since 2007.
The jury consisted of Ludger Brümmer (Head of ZKM - Institute for Music and Acoustics), Björn Gottstein (Artistic Director Donaueschingen Festival), Detlef Heusinger ( Head SWR experimental Studio), Professor Atau Tanaka (Goldsmiths University, London) and Peter Weibel (ZKM Karlsruhe Artistic Director). The composer will attend the Giga-Hertz-Award Ceremony on Saturday, November 26, 2016, at 20h, as well as leading representatives from the international music and art scene.
Giga-Hertz-Award for Electronic composer Curtis Roads
Curtis Roads is considered one of the most influential composers in electroacoustic genre and has evolved aesthetically and theoretically granular synthesis in his compositions. Just as his compositions impressed, so did his writing oeuvre: Curtis Roads has issued not only "The Computer Music Tutorial" (MIT Press 1996), but also the book "Microsound" (MIT Press 2001). His latest release "Composing Electronic Music" (Oxford 2015) is subtitled "A New Aesthetic" thus clarifies the current claim of this medium. His work led him to almost all the major studios, among others at MIT, IRCAM, Les Ateliers UPIC and CREATE in Santa Barbara, where he is currently working.
Past winners of the Giga-Hertz Prize
The Giga-Hertz Award is one of the leading international prizes of its kind and experienced in recent years with its accompanying concerts and performances a steadily growing attention. IAmong the previous winners include the likes of Pierre Boulez, John Chowning, Brian Eno, Francis Dhomont, Jean-Claude Risset, Pauline Oliveros, Emmanuel Nunes, Gottfried Michael Koenig, Trevor Wishart, and Jonathan Harvey.
Program Giga-Hertz-Award 2016
Once again this year is a comprehensive program to accompany the award. The weekend of the 26th and 27th of November is dedicated to the main prize winner Curtis Roads: In the form of lectures, readings and a concert the life work of this year's laureate will be presented as comprehensively as possible. The Giga-Hertz Prize underlines once more the importance of electronic music in the contemporary music culture.
More information on the Giga-Hertz Prize Festival on the website
The extensive program and in particular for the award ceremony on Saturday, November 26, at 20h at the ZKM, journalists are welcome.
For more information on
OTS: SWR - Südwestrundfunk newsroom: newsroom via RSS:
Press contact: Oliver Kopitzke, Tel 07221 929 23854,
Professor Curtis Roads