November 24, 1999

A Jazz Retrospective:
A look at this century's great jazz composers and arrangers

The UCSB Jazz Ensemble presents a retrospective look at this century's great jazz composers and arrangers. Composers represented will include early jazz's Jelly Roll Morton and Duke Ellington, Charles Mingus, Thelonious Monk, and Bob Brookmeyer. Arrangers represented will include Gil Evans, Thad Jones, and Marty Paich. Compositions to be performed include Billy Byers' arrangement of All of Me, Bill Holman's Theme and Variations II, and Jim McNeely's Absolution. Join us for an exciting evening of music from this first century of America's original art form, Jazz.

Ensemble Members


Wolverine Blues Jelly Roll Morton
Valerie Taylor, piano

Black Bottom Stomp Jelly Roll Morton

Chant of the Weed Don Redman

Rockin' in Rhythm Duke Ellington

All of Me Simon/Marks, arr. by Billy Byers

All of Me Simon/Marks, arr. by Thad Jones

My Ship Kurt Weill, arr. by Gil Evans

Hello and Goodbye Bob Brookmeyer


Theme and Variations II Bill Holman

'Round Midnite Thelonious Monk, arr. by Marty Paich

Fables of Faubus Charles Mingus
performed by UCSB Jazz Combo, featuring Tom Grunland, guitar

Absolution Jim McNeely

Wyrgly Maria Schneider

Whirlybird Neal Hefti, arr. by Sammy Nestico